General Assembly honors Maryland Carey Law for 200 years of ‘bold leadership’

All News

Photo: House Speaker Adrienne Jones presents the joint resolution to Maryland Carey Law Dean Renée McDonald Hutchins and UMB President Bruce Jarrell surrounded by delegates who are affiliated with the law school. Photo courtesy Maryland General Assembly 

In 2024, the University of Maryland Francis King Carey School of Law celebrates 200 years of progress and bold leadership in legal education. In recognition of the milestone, the Maryland General Assembly presented University of Maryland, Baltimore (UMB) President Bruce Jarrell and Maryland Carey Law Dean Renée McDonald Hutchins a joint resolution recognizing and honoring the law school. The resolution reads: 

“Be it hereby known to all that the Maryland General Assembly offers its sincerest congratulations to University of Maryland Francis King Carey School of Law in recognition of 200 years of progress and bold leadership in legal education in the State. As Maryland’s flagship law school and the fourth oldest law school in the nation, we commend your dedication to excellence. The entire membership extends its best wishes on this memorable occasion and directs this resolution be presented on this 30th day of January 2024.” 

“It is an honor to be recognized by the Maryland General Assembly at this historic moment,” said Hutchins. “We have a long and fruitful history partnering with this body on important initiatives impacting the people of Maryland, notably, our Cardin Requirement, which ensures that Maryland Carey Law students participate in our Clinical Law Program as a requirement of graduation. We look forward to working together for the good of our great state for many years to come.” 

House Speaker Adrienne Jones and Senate President Bill Ferguson ’10 presented the joint resolution in back-to-back ceremonies, first on the house floor then in the senate chamber. In his introduction, Ferguson delighted in recognizing his alma mater on its 200th anniversary. 

Present at the ceremonies, along with Hutchins and Jarrell, were three former Maryland Carey Law deans, Professor Donald Tobin (dean 2014-2022), Professor Emeritus Karen Rothenberg (dean 1999-2009) and Professor Don Gifford (dean 1992-2009). The Maryland Carey Law Board of Visitors chair Tamika Tremaglio ’95; Alumni Board member Charlie Kassir ’19; and students Byron Cheung ’25, Chris Daffin ’24, and Nell Piper ’24 also attended. 

Daffin, who during law school has worked in the offices of Maryland Sen. Shelly Hettleman, U.S. Sen. Ben Cardin 67, and Maryland Gov. Wes Moore, among others, was proud to represent Maryland Carey Law at the proceedings. “It will be an honor to graduate from this amazing law school in the same year as its 200th anniversary,” said Daffin, “and I look forward to joining the same supportive alumni community that has supported me throughout my time as a student. Currently, Daffin serves as a law clerk in the Public Trust and Police Integrity Unit of the Office of the States Attorney for Baltimore City and hopes to work as an assistant state’s attorney after graduation. 

Established in 1824, Maryland Carey Law is the fourth oldest law school in the nation. Festivities throughout the year include an anniversary event during Alumni Weekend in April, opportunities to share law school memories, and a special issue of the Maryland Carey Law magazine.