Event Highlights

All News

Salsbury Trial Advocacy Tournament

Maryland Carey Law launched a new internal advocacy tournament in April—the Salsbury Trial Advocacy Tournament. The tournament is now the tryout process for the law school’s highly esteemed National Trial Team. Made possible by a generous gift from Stuart Salsbury ’71 and Suzanne Salsbury ’73, the Salsbury Trial Advocacy Tournament is a tribute to the benefits their son Benjamin “Ben” Salsbury ’07 and his wife, Rebecca “Becca” Salsbury ’08 gained from their time on the National Trial Team. Now a member of the Maryland Carey Law Board of Visitors, Ben went on after graduation to serve as the team’s co-director for several years and teaches Trial Practice at the law school. This year, he was joined in the classroom by his father. Millicent Sasu ’25 earned Best Advocate at the inaugural tournament, with Giovanna Monti ’25 as runner-up.

Myerowitz Competition

In March, the law school held the 52nd annual Morris Brown Myerowitz Moot Court Competition. Finalists argued the fictional case Swanson v. Macklin, Newport and the City of Pawnee. Best Oralist went to Jessica Thayer ’24 and Best Brief to Megan Hovious ’24.





Ramsey Lecture

Delaware Court of Chancery Vice Chancellor Paul A. Fioravanti, Jr. ’97 presented the 2023 Norman P. Ramsey Distinguished Lecture, “Inside the Delaware Court of Chancery: A Modern-Day Perspective.”






Jurist-in-Residence Talk

Maryland Carey Law’s Women, Leadership & Equality Program presented the event Writing Judicial Opinions, featuring Jurist-in-Residence the Hon. Mary Ellen Barbera ’84, former chief judge of the Maryland Court of Appeals (now the Supreme Court of Maryland). During the intimate conversation with students, Judge Barbera shared insights into how appellate judges decide cases and answered questions from students interested in clerkships.




Latinx Law Students Association (LLSA) Awards Ceremony

Last year, LLSA renamed the annual IMPACTO Award to honor Associate Dean José Bahamonde González, who passed away in 2022. The inaugural recipients of the José Bahamonde González IMPACTO Award were Wandaly Fernández García ’14 and Katrin Hussmann Schroll ’09.





Black Law Students Association (BLSA) Banquet

At the February BLSA banquet, the group presented the Alumni of the Year Award to Tisha Edwards ’01, appointments secretary to Gov. Wes Moore. Edwards offered the keynote address. Other award recipients included A. Tonya Odom ’87, Practitioner of the Year; Open Society Institute-Baltimore (accepted by Danielle Torain ’10), Firm Diversity Award; and Derrick Milburn ’13, Impact Award.





Asian Pacific American Law Students Association (APALSA) Reception

At APALSA’s annual spring reception, the group awarded the 2023 APALSA Award of Excellence to Judge Rosalyn Tang of the Appellate Court of Maryland who offered the evening’s keynote address. Judge Tang is the first Asian American and youngest person to be appointed to Maryland’s appellate court.