The Bulletin

All News

Faculty Promotions

Deborah Thompson Eisenberg was promoted to vice dean of the law school. Chaz Arnett and Will Moon were granted tenure and promoted to full professors of law.

Bellow Scholar

Associate Professor Maneka Sinha, director of the Criminal Defense Clinic, was named a 2023-2024 Bellow Scholar by the Association of American Law Schools. Sinha’s project, Reliability and Automated Suspicion, analyzes hundreds of state and federal opinions to assess whether courts meaningfully address the reliability of policing technologies when making reasonable suspicion and probable cause determinations under the Fourth Amendment.

NIH Grant

Professor Marley Weiss was awarded a $3.7 million National Institute of Environmental Science (NIH) grant to study structural racism and health among Black and Latinx seasonal farmworkers.

First Citizen Award

Morton & Sophia Macht Professor of Law Larry S. Gibson, civil rights activist, political consultant, and author of Young Thurgood: The Making of a Supreme Court Justice was honored in April by the Maryland Senate with a First Citizen Award for his lifetime of work. Gibson was mysteriously summoned to the State House and surprised with the medal upon arrival.

Fulbright Award

Carole & Hanan Sibel Research Professor Martha Ertman was awarded a Fulbright Canada Traditional Scholar Award for the spring 2024 semester. Her project on contract-based reparations for racial injustice will take her to McGill University in Montreal to teach and conduct research.


Professor Natalie Ram was elected to the American Law Institute (ALI).

Maryland Carey Law Dean Renée McDonald Hutchins was appointed by Gov. Wes Moore to chair the Appellate Judicial Nominating Commission.

Eviction Prevention Clinic

Maryland Carey Law launched a new Eviction Prevention Clinic in fall 2022. The clinic is led by former Maryland Legal Aid lawyer Dan Rosenberg and funded by the Maryland Legal Services Corporation.

Lifetime Achievement Award

University System of Maryland Regents Professor Mark Graber received a lifetime achievement award at the 119th annual meeting of the American Political Science Association (APSA) from APSA’s Law and Courts Section.

White House Appointment

Professor Seema Kakade has taken a two-year leave of absence to serve as senior counsel in the White House Executive Office of the President, Council on Environmental Quality (CEQ). The CEQ advises the president and develops policies on critical issues like climate change, environmental justice, public lands, oceans, and wildlife conservation. 

Clinical Law Program Turns 50

In 2023, the Clinical Law Program, led by Marjorie Cook Professor of Law Leigh Goodmark, commemorated its 50th anniversary. The yearlong celebration featured multiple events, including a symposium focused on the role of law school clinics in helping to reduce prison populations.

Health Law Conference

Health law scholars from across the nation and around the world traveled to Baltimore in June for the 46th Health Law Professors Conference co-sponsored by the American Society of Law, Medicine, and Ethics (ASLME) and the Law and Health Care Program at Maryland Carey Law.

The largest academic health law event in the country, the annual conference attracts faculty who teach law and bioethics in schools of law, medicine, dentistry, public health, social work, and more. This year, over 250 scholars registered for the conference.

Distinguished University Professor

Jacob A. France Professor of Torts Donald G. Gifford was recognized by the University of Maryland, Baltimore (UMB) with the title of Distinguished University Professor. The designation is the highest appointment bestowed on a faculty member at UMB. 

National Champions

2022-2023 was a banner year for Maryland Carey Law’s advocacy teams with some big wins. The Black Law Students Association (BLSA) Thurgood Marshall Trial Team took first place at NBLSA nationals; the National Trial Team claimed the championship at the Hofstra Medical-Legal Competition; and the ADR Team bested the competition at the Securities Dispute Resolution Triathlon.